“Still I Rise” by Maya Angelou #inspirational #prose

Photo: Courtesy G. Paul  Bishop Jr

Marguerite Johnson (Maya Angelou) – Poet

Born April 4, 1928 in St. Louis, Missouri

“I’ve learned that people will forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel.” 
Maya  Angelou

Still I Rise

“Success is liking yourself, liking what you do, and liking how you do it.” 
Maya Angelou

Still I Rise

You may write me down in history
With your bitter, twisted lies,
You may trod me in the very dirt
But still, like dust, I’ll rise.

Does my sassiness upset you?
Why are you beset with gloom?
‘Cause I walk like I’ve got oil wells
Pumping in my living room.

Just like moons and like suns,
With the certainty of tides,
Just like hopes springing high,
Still I’ll rise.

Did you want to see me broken?
Bowed head and lowered eyes?
Shoulders falling down like teardrops.
Weakened by my soulful cries.

Does my haughtiness offend you?
Don’t you take it awful hard
‘Cause I laugh like I’ve got gold mines
Diggin’ in my own back yard.

You may shoot me with your words,
You may cut me with your eyes,
You may kill me with your hatefulness,
But still, like air, I’ll rise.

Does my sexiness upset you?
Does it come as a surprise
That I dance like I’ve got diamonds
At the meeting of my thighs?

Out of the huts of history’s shame
I rise
Up from a past that’s rooted in pain
I rise
I’m a black ocean, leaping and wide,
Welling and swelling I bear in the tide.
Leaving behind nights of terror and fear
I rise
Into a daybreak that’s wondrously clear
I rise
Bringing the gifts that my ancestors gave,
I am the dream and the hope of the slave.
I rise
I rise
I rise.

Maya Angelou
“A bird doesn’t sing because it has an answer, it sings because it has a song.” 
Maya Angelou

Larry King speaks with Maya Angelou

on Obama election win 2008

“I’ve learned that you can tell a lot about a person by the way (s)he handles these three things: a rainy day, lost luggage, and tangled Christmas tree lights.” 
Maya Angelou

Maya Angelou – Mini Bio

“I love to see a young girl go out and grab the world by the lapels. Life’s a bitch. You’ve got to go out and kick ass.” 
<Maya Angelou

An Evening With Maya Angelou

“Courage: the most important of all the virtues because without courage, you can’t practice any other virtue consistently.” 
Maya Angelou
Maya Angelou’s autobiography covering her early years was released in 1969.  The caged bird, a symbol for the chained slave, was inspired by lines from a poem from ‘Sympathy’ written by African-American poet Paul L Dunbar.

“….I know why the caged bird sings, ah me,
When his wing is bruised and his bosom sore,
When he beats his bars and would be free;
It is not a carol of joy or glee,
But a prayer that he sends from his heart’s deep core,
But a plea, that upward to Heaven he flings –
I know why the caged bird sings…”
-May 
The 1 Minute Blogger

